New sub-power station unveiled in Kyauktan Township

THE opening ceremony of the Kamarkalote/Kayinchaung 33/11KV, 5MVA sub-power station in Kyauktan Township, Yangon Region, was held yesterday morning. It was implemented by the Yangon Electricity Supply Corporation, Ministry of Electricity and Energy.

First, Union Minister for Electricity and Energy U Win Khaing gave a speech. He said the Union government is working hard for national development and has prioritized safe and smooth transportation and stable and sufficient electricity generation in that endeavor.

The Union Minister said the ministry’s aim is to construct sufficient numbers of power stations, transmission lines and sub-power stations to provide sufficient electricity to the public and industries. He said the government has implemented 50 per cent nationwide electrification in December 2019 and has set the target of 55 per cent by 2021, 75 per cent by 2025-2026 financial year, and a hundred per cent by 2030.

The Union Minister said the eleven villages in Kyauktan Township and Tada used of receive electricity from a 15.7 mile long transmission line from the Tada sub-power station while the other six villages in Kyauktan Township received their electricity from a 13.5 mile long transmission line from Kyauktan sub-power station.

He said due to the length of the transmission lines, there were frequent issues with electricity distribution and finding the source of a failure along the long lines which resulted in extended power outages. He said they constructed the sub-power station near Kyauktan Township to reduce inconveniences for the public.

Next, Regional Chief Minister U Phyo Min Thein delivered a few remarks on the opening ceremony of the sub-power station and Pyithu Hluttaw representative Daw Aye Mya Mya Myo of Kyauktan Constituency and U Tin Moe Lwin, a townselder, expressed gratitude for opening the sub-power station.

This was followed by Regional Hluttaw Deputy Speaker U Lin Naing Myint, Deputy Minister for Electricity and Energy U Khin Maung Win,  Regional Minister for Electricity, Industry, Transportation and Communication Daw Nilar Kyaw, Pyithu Hluttaw representative Daw Aye Mya Mya Myo, Regional Hluttaw representative U Zaw Moe Lwin and Daw Thet Thet Mu cutting ceremonial ribbons to open the archway of the sub-power station.

Next, Union Minister U Win Khaing, Chief Minister U Phyo Min Thein, Regional Hluttaw Speaker U Tin Maung Tun and Regional Chief Justice U Hla Aye  unveiled the plaque of the station and toured inside it.

K179.69 billion from the Union fund has been used since April 2016 to present, and K32.6 billion from the Yangon Region government fund had been used in 2018-2019 FY to construct seven 33/11KV, 5MVA sub-power stations, 61 miles of 33KV transmission lines, 267 miles of 11KV transmission lines, 302 electricity transformers, and 208 miles of 400V transmission lines. Electricity has been successfully distributed to Kawhmu, Kungyangon, Kyauktan and Twantay townships of South Yangon District and to Hmawby, Taikkyi, Okkan and Aphyauk townships of North Yangon District.

A total of 1,085 villages received electricity in 2016 and 269 more received in 2018-2019 FY, making it 64 per cent electrification. Officials aim to provide electricity to 495 more villages in 2019-2020 FY and bring the number up to 87 per cent.

The ministry has plans to provide 259 remaining villages with electricity in 2020-2021 FY and to achieve 100 per cent electrification for all villages in Yangon Region by December 2020.


(Translated by Zaw Htet Oo)


Ref; The Global New Light of Myanmar