President U Win Myint inaugurates new office of Anti-Corruption Commission

President U Win Myint opened the new office building of Anti-Corruption Commission in Nay Pyi Taw yesterday morning.

The inauguration ceremony was attended by the Union Ministers, the Union Attorney-General, the Chairman of Nay Pyi Taw Council, the Chairman of ACC and its members, and departmental officials.

After removing the curtain of building’s signboard, the President sprinkled scented water onto the plaque of commission’s new office.

President U Win Myint made a remark on the opening of new ACC office.

ACC Chairman U Aung Kyi also explained the progress and ongoing activities of his office.

He talked about the reform of ACC by the government in November 2017, the implementation of annual plans under the Anti-Corruption Strategy Plan (2018-2021), and the completion of 80 per cent works from the plan at the end of June 2020.

The commission chairman also emphasized sustainable progress in fighting against corruption through two strategies of enforcing the legal framework and the harmonious promotion between public integrity and business integrity.

He added the commission will implement the remaining 20 per cent of tasks under the four-year plan, while the government has supported the plan of commission to draw ‘the National-Level Anti-Corruption Strategy’.

The commission has formed the Corruption Prevention Units (CPU) to promote integrity at the public departments and offices. However, some of these units have not seen significant progress in their works.

The commission has instructed the private business firms to adopt and follow codes of conduct for eliminating corruptions.

ACC Chair U Aung Kyi continued the emergence of ‘the National-Level Anti-Corruption Strategy’ could enforce the CPU and the CoC.

The ACC chair then presented the reference books for promoting anti-corruption and integrity for high schools and universities across the country to Union Minister for Education Dr Myo Thein Gyi before concluding the ceremony.


(Translated by Aung Khin)